Photos of Wigan
Photos of Wigan

Wigan Album

Springfield ARLFC


Winners of the Charlie Seeling trophy 1981.
Photo: Joe O'Loughlin
Views: 2,885
Item #: 2493
Winners of the Charlie Seeling trophy 1981, under the coach Ken Halliwell.

The team is back row left to right. Frank Sharp, Jimmy Melling, David Price, France Farrell, Ken Halliwell, Ian Leather.

Front row:- Graham Moss, Kev Williams, Joe O'Loughlin and Ged Glover.

Comment by: Pengy on 31st July 2010 at 09:59

I seem to remeber barker was left wing that day.or was it left back in dressing room

Comment by: Alan Robinson on 26th June 2012 at 16:25

R.I.P. France Farrell. Cracking Number 1

Comment by: Jimmy Melling on 28th June 2012 at 23:16

Wasn't this Winners of the Wigan 7's at Foster Playing fields?

Comment by: joe on 6th September 2012 at 21:00

ye your right and greenhough got leathered in the beer tent that day

Comment by: bernard seeling on 14th December 2012 at 11:01

I am interested to know if the Charles Seeling trophy is still played for and if not where is it?

Comment by: jeff b on 6th June 2013 at 05:26

joe you were drinking with me and i recall you was in bed for seven.

Comment by: Jimmy on 5th January 2014 at 01:12

We did win the Charlie Seeking trophy as well as the Wigan 7's beating ince 6v4 at Coronation Park. Don't know what happened to the trophy.

Comment by: Jimmy Melling on 21st March 2014 at 11:32

Knowing the Springfield lot they probably weighed it in.

Comment by: Ian Thornley on 29th March 2014 at 14:07

Last time I saw it, it was on top of terry the horses tele
along with various other trophys he'd accumulated over the years

Comment by: PIEMAN on 26th January 2019 at 01:51

Pendlebury had been booted to StPats by then did not want to play second fiddle to IRVING MELLING

Leave a comment?

* Enter the 5 digit code to the right of the input box. Don't worry if you make a mistake, you will get another chance. Your comments won't be lost.